The Rack – Front Panel

For the rack I have been building I brought all the inputs and outputs out to the front on what you might call a breakout panel. I just took a 1U blank front panel and drilled holes in it for the midi and 1/4 inch jack sockets. It works fine (look OK, not great but OK) but I thought it would be nice to do it ‘professionally’.

I found this web site www.frontpanelexpress.com that does one off and small run custom front panels so I downloaded their software and started to play around with it.

This is what I ended up with (click for full size image):


The text placement still needs a little tweaking but I think it looks pretty neat. Once I’ve tried my rack in the wild as it were, and proved that my setup works the way I want to I may well have this made as little Christmas present to myself.

Leave a Reply

