It’s just not the same…

Being a Brit by birth, I grew up on a diet of Cadbury’s chocolate. Well, not quite literally a diet of it, but close. I thought nothing of polishing off a one pound bar of Cadbury’s milk chocolate in thirty minutes (still don’t!). When it comes to chocolate, it’s Cadbury’s or death in my opinion, there is nothing else. Coming to live in the USA meant giving up my beloved Cadbury’s chocolate. I was not happy.

So imagine my delight years ago when I discovered that every Easter, Walmart of all places was stocked with REAL Cadbury’s Creme eggs!

cadburyegg

Life was once again bearable (and fattening!).

Sadly though I have noticed a worrying trend over the last couple of years. Fake Cardbury’s. How can this be I hear you ask (and if not I’m gonna tell you anyway).

It would seem the Hershey’s has the license to make chocolate and stick a Cadbury’s label on it. The only way to tell the difference is to read the small print on the label. Anyway the upshot is that for the last couple of years, ALL the creme eggs at Walmart have been made by Hershey’s.

Now, you might think this is no big deal but let me tell you, as a chocolate and creme egg connoisseur, Hershey’s is NOT Cadbury’s and sticking a blue label on that rubbish (apologies if you actually like Hershey’s but I don’t) does not make it a quality product any more than sticking a Ferrari badge on a Mustang makes it into an Italian classic.

So there you have it, the rape of an English classic beauty by a colonial upstart. No wonder we (England) lost the Empire!

As you can tell, I am not at all amused by this, I am unhappy and the search for quality (and real) creme eggs once again continues. On the plus side though, I have lost a ton of weight!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

