The Diet…

OK, OK, I know, it’s New Year’s eve and everyone will be starting their new diet ‘tomorrow’ so just to be awkward, I started mine last November! All I can recall of the decision to start a diet was that it was a Wednesday early in November, my weight was around 268 pounds and I was struggling to bend over to tie my ruddy shoe laces and I though to myself (as you do) “that’s it, the diet starts NOW”.

And it did.

From that moment on I simply stopped snacking and started controlling what I ate. I was a shame really because I’d got a load of chocolate for my birthday (just a few days earlier) and I LOVE chocolate but I had to take control so I did.

This morning I’d reached my initial goal of 248 pounds and I want to get down to around 235 which should be doable by the end of February.

So, what did I do?

  • I started training at the gym again on a regular basis (instead of the go once/miss a week stuff that I had been doing) with the aim, initially at least, of just getting my general level of fitness up. Just getting to the point where I felt I could actually start to ‘really’ train was the hardest part but I started slowly with three thirty minute sessions and it’s now worked up to three days on, one off (rest day) with session of around 40 minutes in the week (in my lunch hour) and 50 minutes to an hour at week-ends. The hardest part for me has been to NOT push myself too hard because I usually end up with an injury of some sort that makes it hard to remain motivated. In fact I did tear a bicep muscle a few weeks ago but it’s mostly healed now after staying off it for a few weeks, and I’ve started to work it again but it was a timely reminder NOT to push too hard. I’ve also got back pain from who knows what that is slowing me down a bit right now but a workout actually helps reduce the pain so while it hurts at the time, it’s worth it afterwards.
  • My daily diet consists of the following:
    • 7:30 am – Two pots of fruit yogurt when I get up.
    • 9:00 am – A banana
    • 10:30 am – Protein drink. One scoop of powder and a load of fruit (banana, strawberries, kiwi fruit) blended in a nutri bullet.
    • 11:30 am – Workout at the gym on workout days
    • 3.00 pm – Banana
    • 6:00 pm (ish) – Stir fry consisting of 3 or 4 chicken tenderloins, handful of sugar snap peas, handful if mushroom and a bell pepper.
    • 8:00 pm – I usually have a beer or a cider (or two) because while I am on a diet, I don’t want to feel like I am dead. After all life is for enjoying.
  • Any time I am hungry I drink tea. English style – Hot, with milk, NO sugar.

And that’s it. On that regime I have lost around two pounds a week and increased my strength in the gym. My strength (and thus muscle mass) gains have not been massive but enough for me. After all, I am 61 years old now! I already feel a lot healthier and have more energy and if I can fix the back pain (at the doc’s next week) I should be looking forward to a good 2015.

Just look for the god like figure on the beach next summer. That’ll be me!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

