Mounting Arduino Uno

For my various projects I am currently using an Arduino Uno. In order to mount this inside the Hammond 1590BB look alike project boxes that I use I use the following ‘el cheapo’ method (hey, it works!):

I cut two piece of 1/8 hardboard to just a bit bigger than the Arduino Uno circuit board. They do not need all the fancy cutouts that the circuit board has, they can just be regular rectangles.

Then I use an old Arduino Uno as a template to drill three 1/8 inch holes in ONE of the boards. I don’t use the mounting hole nearest to the USB connector because it’s too close to the terminal block to get a screw in there.

I then lay that board over the other one, line them up and drill the same holes in the other board.

I then take the second board and re-drill the holes with a 1/4 inch drill. These holes will take the nuts that the screws go into.

I use #4-40 3/8 inch screws and nuts. The nuts are ‘just’ too big to go into the 1/4 inch holes in the board but a gentle whack with a hammer lodges them in there. One nut in each hole.

I then use some 5 minute epoxy to glue the two boards together and put screws through the holes and into the nuts just to keep them aligned.

 

Top of the board:

ArduinoMount1

Bottom with nuts ‘inserted’ (ignore the hole in the middle, that was just me testing the nut fit):

ArduinoMount2

What it looks like when done (no screws yet):

ArduinoMount3

I then cut suitable holes (lots of measuring, drilling and and filing) in the side of the project box using the mounted Arduino as a template. Once I am happy with the fit in the box, I epoxy the mounting board into the project box with the old Arduino fastened in place so that I know everything lines up and it’s where I want it to be.

One thing I did find is that the power socket on this old Arduino Uno that I use as template is set slightly further back than the power sockets on the latest ones I have (different manufacturer probably). So I have to ensure that the hole for the power socket in the project box is large enough and the correct shape to take the socket. Other than that’s it’s all pretty simple.

 

 

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

