Yet another electronics idea…

Sitting in my (ever growing) box of unstarted projects are a couple of Arduino blue tooth transmitters/receivers. It occurred to me the other day that I could integrate a receiver into my beat Buddy midi controller (the Hackman) and put the other one as a transmitter up on the keytar near where my thumb sits. I could hook up a couple of switches to the transmitter on the keytar so that I could get the BeatBuddy to play fills and transitions by pressing the buttons on the keytar instead of having to look down and do a tap dance all the time.

Taking that a step further, I could do something similar and make it drive ‘simulated’ switches for my loop pedal to make it step up and down through tracks as well as stop. This would make live playing over pre recorded tracks a lot easier as no need to look down to tap the correct switch (For complex songs I break them into multiple parts and prerecord the backing tracks into the loop pedal).

In fact, I could create a dedicated blue tooth receiver for my pedal board and then have that send signals to the Hackman and loop pedal. That would mean that I would not have to stand right next to my pedal board to work the loop pedal or BeatBuddy.

Mmmmm.Might be onto something here.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

